Tags

, ,

I’m currently up to my ears in Charlie Brown Christmas shows and other fun stuff.  So… rather than go inward for a post this week, I decided to look for a quick burst of inspiration and fun.

Ever taken the Proust Questionnaire?  It’s entertaining – and interesting, too.  To be honest, I didn’t give much thought to these answers; I just jotted down these replies off the top of my head, rapid fire.  And I haven’t included every single question from the original, either.  Perhaps at a later date I’ll spend more time with the questions – the whole list – but maybe these answers are the truest because of their off-the-cuff nature?

My favorite virtue?

Honesty.

My favorite qualities in a man?

Sense of humor and appreciation for irony.

My favorite qualities in a woman?

Sense of humor and appreciation for irony.

My chief characteristic?

Moodiness.

What I appreciate the most in my friends?

Their tolerance of me.

My main fault?

Low self esteem.

My favorite occupation?

Making music, and writing.

My idea of happiness?

Never having to mourn the past or fear the future.

My idea of misery?

Deafness or paralysis.

If not myself, who would I be?

As my father used to say, “If your aunt had balls she’d be your uncle.”

Where would I like to live?

In a state of fulfillment.

My favorite color?

Purple, green and blue.

My favorite flower?

Iris, gladiola, hyacinth.

My favorite authors of fiction?

Philip Roth, TC Boyle, George Orwell, Ian McEwan

My favorite poets?

Mary Oliver, Charles Bukowski, Thich Nhat Hanh, Joni Mitchell

My favorites heroes in fiction?

Winston Smith, Jesse Pinkman, Calvin, Holden Caulfield

My favorite painters?

Duncan Slade, and any realist art.

My favorite composers?

Mozart, Debussy, Chopin, JS Bach, Bartok, Fats Waller

My heroes in real life?

Carl Sagan, Richard Dawkins, Neil deGrasse Tyson

My heroines in real life?

Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Ani DiFranco

What characters in history do I most dislike?

Adolph Hitler, Kim Il Sung, Joseph Smith

My heroines in world history?

Lucy Harris

My favorite food and drink?

Indian cuisine; chamomile tea

What I hate the most?

Willful ignorance.

The military event I admire the most?

I am not educated enough to answer this question.

The natural talent I’d like to be gifted with?

The ability to accurately draw what I see.

How I wish to die?

Very old, in my sleep with a full belly and with my memory and senses intact.

My present state of mind?

Eager to start on something new.

For what fault do I have the most tolerance?

Impatience – because I understand it.

Favorite motto?

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” -Carl Sagan

What are some of your answers?  I’d love to read them.  Thanks for reading mine.