Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night was my first gig at Wine Thyme, an upscale wine bar and restaurant in North Conway village.  It was brutally hot all day, in the 90s, and sticky!  It made me miss New Orleans.  I set up for the gig, got started and was feeling a little down.  At 6:00 there wasn’t much of a crowd yet, and everyone who was there was engrossed in conversation and not necessarily there to hear music.  Not surprising for a restaurant gig, but I was feeling a bit like a heel hanging out in the corner of the patio – then I see Swamp Dog walking down the street.  Now, let me tell you – Swamp Dog is quite a character.  Tall, young, tanned, handsome, tattooed, almost always smiling.  In the short time that I’ve known him, I don’t think I’ve ever not seen him in a sleeveless T-shirt, shorts and the flip-flops that he always removes whenever he’s on stage.  He’s a drummer, guitarist, songwriter and vocalist extraordinaire.  He has this amazing ability to create kick-ass blues songs on the spot.  So, when I saw him, the conversation went something like this:

Me:  Hey, Swamp Dog!

SD:  Hey, Heather!

Me:  You feel like sitting in?

SD:  Sure, let me go get my burrito and then I’ll grab my guitar.

So, for the rest of the night, I shared the patio stage with Swamp Dog.  Everyone was riveted.  Everyone listened.  The owner even came out and offered free dinner to Swamp Dog for showing up.   The best part is – we get to do it again next Wednesday night!  Awesome!

Today is Thursday, and I’ll be hosting the newly-formed open mic night at Bear Bonz BBQ in Naples, Maine from 6 to 9 p.m.  These guys were so excited to have me host an open mic for them that they even put a portabella burger on their menu at my request!  (Thanks, Bob!)  I really love these early evening gigs, because it gives me time to do things like stop in to see my pal Jon Sarty at the open mic at the 302 West in Fryeburg on my way home.

I wonder who will show up tonight..?

