Tags

, ,

This morning started off promising – Evan and I walked over to the library here in Fountain Hills for story time at 10:00 a.m.  It was a gorgeous day and perfect for a walk to the library and back.  We read stories with Miss Christy and the other kids, played a couple of games and made a craft to bring home.  We hung out for a while reading books and picking out books and movies to check out.  I was happy to bring him and at the same time give Mom and Dad a chance to get caught up on some grown-up things that needed doing.

We got back to the house just before lunch and Evan and I spent some time outside by the pool playing Candy Land and then, when the sun got too hot, we came inside to play Chutes and Ladders.  Then it was time for lunch.  By this time, Rick was back and after I ate lunch I went and sat out in one of the chairs by the pool to soak up some sun and think about the hike I was going to take this afternoon.   The longer I sat in the chair, though, the more lethargic I began to feel, so much so that I had to go inside after a while, afraid that I would fall asleep in the chair and wake up with one nasty sunburn.  So, I thought, “I’ll go in and lay down for a few minutes and then get up and get ready for the hike.”  I went to my room and slept, alright – for 2 1/2 hours!

When I woke up at 3:15 I knew that I didn’t have enough daylight left for the hike that I wanted to take, so I was thinking maybe a run, but that never happened, either.  So, I lazed around the rest of the afternoon.  I started to then think about the open mic night I had scoped out online, over at The Stray Cat Bar and Grill in Tempe.  I started figuring out in my head what time to leave, what songs I might do… but something didn’t feel right about it.  I’m not sure what it was, but I felt more and more like it wasn’t the right thing to do tonight.  Then it hit me: what did I really come out here to do?  I mean, sure, music is a huge part of my life, and of course I have this new CD that I’m fired up about and want to get out there into the world… but seeing Evan and his folks and spending a quiet, peaceful evening with them – how often do I get to do that?  The most important things in life are the connections you make and keep with the people who mean the most to you, and how often do I get to Phoenix?  And besides, Evan’s not going to be 3 years old forever.  I want to enjoy this short time with him and his folks while I can.  So, I set up the keyboard and pulled out the guitar like I would have over in Tempe, but instead set it all up in my room and brought Evan in for a jam session and we had a blast!  We played Christmas songs, we made up songs, we sang silly songs, we took turns playing the keyboard and the guitar, he brought out his shakers and his little guitar, I played Linus and Lucy while he danced on the bed, and the best part of all was when Rick and Meteena came in to sing Jingle Bells with us.  After dinner, I lazed around even more, curling up on the couch with a blanket and watching TV while Evan and Meteena wrapped Christmas presents on the living room floor.

Yeah, I’ve seen some amazing stuff here, and every vacation needs its share of adventures, but today, as mellow as it was, was one of my favorite adventures so far.

