Tags

, , , , , , ,

That spring-like thaw that was tugging at the air this weekend is gone now, replaced by the familiar cold of winter – familiar, and yet I can never really get used to it.  I am not a winter person.  The cold seeps into my bones and it’s hard to shake it.  I don’t like the feeling of tensing up against it the moment I step out the door, or the sight of my frosty breath, or the sound of snow crunching under my boots.  Winter reminds me of how uninhabitable the world can seem at times.  I haven’t fulfilled my promise to try snowboarding yet, so perhaps there is hope for me in becoming a winter lover, but I am in serious doubt about that possibility.

So, what to do?  It’s Monday night and as of this writing, people are probably starting to fill up The Red Parka Pub for open mic night, and where am I?  Couch-locked, notebook and pencil just inches from my seat, new songs tugging at the edges of my consciousness.  Motivation, where art thou?  I will not find it at the bottom of that bag of potato chips, either.  🙂

In general, though, things are good.  I had a very busy weekend and thus I deserve to be a little sloth-like tonight.  I really don’t have any complaints, only that I wish it weren’t so cold.  But wishing for something like that is, as my dad might have said, like trying to polish a turd – it ain’t gonna get you too far.  The only real bummer of the weekend was our gig at Top Of The Ninth getting cancelled yesterday at the last minute.  Gas leak in the kitchen.  I was pretty upset about it – Shawn and I had really been looking forward to performing together again – but what can you do?  Another thing my dad used to say: “You either get over it or get under it.”  So we jammed for a while at the house here, worked on some of my tunes that I’ve not even thought about in a couple of years.  That was pretty inspiring!

And yet here I am, a day later, a big stinking pile of winter blahs festering in my lap.  So, what can I do?  I can put the computer away, have a glass of water and a snack and pick up the pencil and paper and have a seat at the piano.  I have to remind myself that in the past when I have felt like this – just like this, like I do at this very moment – it is when I’ve written some of my best songs.

Oh, and in case you haven’t seen it, here’s my latest YouTube offering.  Enjoy, and happy new year!  I promise these blahs won’t be around for long.

