Tags

, , , , ,

I am sitting here at Grand Geneva Resort in Lake Geneva, WI trying to make sense of what just happened…

I arrived at this amazing resort around 4:00 this afternoon local time and brought all my stuff into the exhibit hall.  As I started to unpack, I spotted across the room the woman with whom I was to make the presentation this evening.  Here’s how the conversation went when I walked over to introduce myself:

Me:  Hello, I’m Heather Pierson.

She:  (shakes my outstretched hand)  Oh, it’s good to meet you finally!  I’d sent out a search party looking for you!  (laughs)

Me:  (laughs too)  Really?  (laughs a little more)  I didn’t realize I was being looked for.

She:  (laugh disappears)  Well, yeah…

Me:  So, what’s happening tonight?

She:  What do you mean?

Me:  The presentation.

She:  I already gave my presentation.   It was this afternoon from 3:00 to 4:00.

Me:  (feeling the bile churning in my stomach and an urge to destroy everything within reach)  Oh my goodness you’re kidding…

She:  No.

Me:  I got into town yesterday… I really wish you had called me… I gave you my cell phone number…

She:  Yeah, I left it at home.  [Keep in mind that she lives close by here in Wisconsin.]

Me:  (still feeling murderous and stunned)  Well, that’s too bad…

She:  Well, I told the group about your song, so hopefully it’ll bring some folks over to your table.

Me:  Yeah I hope so too.

Then she turned and started to talk to someone else.

What the hell?!?!

I walked back to my table and started unpacking and feeling the full impact of what just happened.  As you all know, I drove a very long way to get here with the understanding that I was going to teach a roomful of music therapists my song “We All Have A Song”.  Of course, yes, I have an exhibit table here and have a nice display of all my CDs, complete with a listening station and a credit card swiper.  But nothing sells CDs better than a live performance – I was really counting on that opportunity to help sell my music to everyone.

Alas, it was not to be.

Those of you who know me best know that I hate to cry in front of people, especially people I don’t know.  So, the urge to cry overwhelmed me while I was setting up and I had to leave the room.  I walked out to my car and called my support team:  Shawn, JD, Tina.  They all said the same things:  “Stay and make the best of it; you’re going to meet lots of really great people; I’m so sorry.”

2 hours later, I’ve made a friend named Sara (who’s also one of the people in charge).  I told her my story and what happened, where I’m from, what I’m about.  After listening to my music, she said, “I have a big mouth – I’m going to make sure everyone comes to see you this weekend!”

So yeah, a monkey wrench to be sure — but then, why am I really here?  Not just here in Wisconsin, but here.  I’m a musician.  I’m here to meet people, share who I am, and connect with those who are pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down.  And that renewed sense of purpose here has invigorated my evening already – the exhibit hall hasn’t even opened yet and I’ve already sold some CDs.   2 hours ago I wanted to leave and drive straight home.  Now I’m psyched to see what the rest of the weekend will bring.

