Tags

, , , , ,

Niagara Falls was pretty awesome.  Not a cloud in the sky, windy — and cold!  My face was numb after walking around the park for 2 1/2 hours.  But I took a bunch of pictures which you can see by clicking here.  The power of all that water was really quite amazing and humbling.  At one point, I ventured off the trail and got right down to the river’s edge — then felt my heart skip a beat when I realized how quickly I would meet my demise if I should accidentally fall into those frigid waters!  There would be no time, I’m sure, to pull me out of that raging torrent before either hypothermia set in or before my body got tossed over the falls.  Yikes!  I thoroughly enjoyed the walk along the Three Sisters Islands trail.  Had I known that I would be visiting the Falls, I would’ve brought my passport – the Canadian side definitely has a much better view of Horseshoe Falls.  All in all, though, it was an awesome place and I really want to go back in the summer and experience more!  This time of year, of course, the Maid of the Mist and Cave of the Winds were not open.  Bummer.

After all those many hours of driving and days of feeling lonely and discouraged and bummed out, I have to say that I nearly burst into tears when I got into the mountains of Vermont yesterday, and even especially when I was finally in New Hampshire on I-93 and saw Mount Washington, covered in the snow I’m always complaining about and glowing in the twilight.

I can’t describe how happy I am to be home, to have slept in my own bed last night and to be surrounded by all the familiar comforts of home.  After a pretty late start this morning, I made some blueberry pancakes and have set out to do… well, not much of anything.  Shawn’s unemployment from Cranmore starts today and, while I’m sad that I never took that snowboard lesson that I’d hoped to this winter, I’m glad that we have some time to hang out, and also with Cranmore closing for the season, that means one thing – spring is really here!

I’m excited for the show at The Little White Church this Saturday!  I put the final touches to the set list over the weekend while I was in Wisconsin and I hope we get a good turnout and that everyone enjoys it.

Thanks for following along on my adventures!  🙂

