Tags

, , ,

Remember me, folks?  I’m your friend whose blog posts about New Orleans started cluttering up your inbox and (hopefully) entertained you somewhat over morning rituals of coffee and breakfast (or perhaps similar afternoon or evening rituals – I shouldn’t assume everyone does their blog reading in the morning like I do).  I haven’t been feeling much like writing lately for several reasons:

1.  I have to admit – I’ve been in a bit of a funk since Shawn and I got back from New Orleans.  Getting off the plane was a bit like waking up from the most awesome dream ever and realizing that we’re awake now and back to a somewhat-by-comparison boring reality.

2.  I’ve been so busy since we got back that I’ve barely had the mental energy to even write about what’s been going on.

3.  Yes, being busy would lead one to think that would give way to lots of fodder for blog posts – but compare a regular ol’ Saturday night gig at Hales with a night in the French Quarter – not very compelling reading, especially considering how relatively quiet it’s been at the hotel lately.

4.  It’s been raining almost constantly since we got back and so all I feel like doing when I have down time is sleeping and moping.

I should update readers on a few things:

First, I didn’t win that Earth Day song contest.  Not even close.  I came in 29th out of 221 entries.  Not too shabby.  I didn’t make it into the top 20 which would’ve enabled me to move into the final round, but hey – 29th in that large a field is respectable I think.

Secondly, I’ve been playing a bunch – at Hales, at the open mic at Ledgends Pub, at Delaney’s, at The Met.  I’ve also been in the studio recording tracks for some new songs.  I’m pretty excited about these tunes and I can’t wait to share them with y’all!

Oh, and I went to motorcycle school.  It was a three day course down in Concord and I had a blast.  It’s been a lifelong dream of mine to ride and I’m happy to report that this student graduated with an MC on her driver’s license.

Lastly, I’m psyched to be a part of a very special concert that’s happening tonight.  Subscribers to my email list have already been told about it so in case you didn’t get the word, it’s at the Saco Coffeehouse in Saco, Maine today (Saturday the 21st) at 8:00 p.m.  Tickets are $10 at the door and children under 12 get in for free.  I’ll be, along with Rusty Wiltjer, accompanying and presenting the original music of singer/songwriter and dear friends Kristen Short.  Performing with Kristen is always a joy and a pleasure, but tonight’s show is especially poignant for me – and for her.  Kristen was diagnosed last year with breast cancer and, after many treatments and surgeries, looks to be coming out on top and ready to get back to kicking ass on stage with her beautiful songs.  This is the first concert she’s given since the diagnosis and I am so proud of her.   If you’re planning on coming tonight, be sure to get there by 7:00 to enjoy the open mic portion of the evening.  Be sure also to bring money to purchase copies of Kristen’s CDs – and you might want to bring a few tissues tucked up into your sleeves as well.

Pancakes have been cooking and flipping as I type these words, so I think it’s time to eat and get on with the day.  Overall, even though life here in the Mount Washington Valley isn’t nearly as robust as in the French Quarter, I have to admit that I am happy to be home and alive in a time when I can pursue my dreams – whether they be musical or personal – and make a joyful living doing so.

