Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last night, Shawn and I went to the 302 in Fryeburg for open mic night.  After the musical spark that was rekindled on Monday night with us and Carl at the Parka, we decided to try it again last night.  Since we got there after things had gotten started, we patiently waited our turn, and in the meantime I sat in with my dear friend Scot Montgomery for his set and got to reconnect with hosts Ed and Linda, Ed and Steve, Ed “The Box Man” (wow, a lot of guys named Ed!) and the rest of the regular gang.  We got to hear a young phenom from Atlanta named Justin Nash who was in town visiting his grandfather before he starts school at Berklee.  Wow, was he amazing!   Then Shawn, Carl and I set up and played a set of our budding blend of instrumental jazz fusion funk.  We’re definitely going to be doing more of that soon!

There’s a change to this weekend’s schedule.  The gig I was supposed to play today with Shawn and with the fabulously chill Matt Bowman on drums got cancelled (thanks, Irene!).   Bummer – I was really looking forward to playing with this trio again.  There will be other opportunities for sure – including some really cool shows we’re planning for later in the year.  Stay tuned for details about that!  Here’s the recap of the weekend:

Friday, September 2nd

I’ll be at home base at the White Mountain Hotel in Hales Location, playing from 6 to 10 p.m. in the Ledges Dining Room.

Saturday, September 3rd

Shawn and I play our last gig at The Met for a while, from 2 to 4 p.m.  Then, we head over to a new venue for us – Smoke & Water Grill in North Conway from 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.

It’s a gorgeous day.  I’m gonna try to get out there and enjoy it a bit before heading off to “work” (if I can really call it that).  See you at the show!

