Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

What an incredible week we’ve had!   Sedona absolutely enchanted us with its incredible, other-worldly landscape and Flagstaff drew us in immediately with both its deep history and its vibrant youthful energy.  Both the gig at Sundara in Flagstaff and the house concert in Sedona were wonderful and intimate nights with appreciative and loving audiences with open ears and hearts.  Another treat was to perform for the Sedona Unitarian Universalist Fellowship on a gorgeous, hundred-year-old Steinway.  I also had the great fortune to sing with Flagstaff music therapist’s Meghan Callaghan‘s Threshold Choir and to teach them some of my songs.  The group already knew “We All Have A Song” – what a joy it was to hear them singing it right along with me!

We did a lot of hiking too, including Devil’s Bridge, Cathedral Rock, and nine miles of trail under the rim of the Grand Canyon – one of the most amazing experiences of my entire life.  Wow!   Northern Arizona!  What an inspiring place to explore, perform, meet new friends, make new connections, and start writing new songs and poetry!  The creative juices are flowing, to be sure!  (I posted pics and more nitty gritty on my Facebook page, which you can check out here: www.facebook.com/HeatherPiersonMusic.)

A special note to folks back home in Maine/NH – this coming Friday is, of course, the last Friday of the month, which had been Norway Open Mic Night for me for an entire decade.  That tradition will continue on – my dear friend and songwriter extraordinaire Davy Sturtevant will be taking over as host!   Davy has been singing and playing songs for various audiences over four decades since his boyhood in Pennsylvania and he now proudly calls western Maine his home.  He looks forward to hosting western Maine’s talented performers, young and old, at the Norway Open Mic Night.   I wish I could be there to cheer him on, so you folks up in western Maine better go in my place!  (And let me know how it goes, too!)

As I type this, I am now back in the Phoenix area, looking forward to what’s next.  While Davy is hosting his first Norway Open Mic Night, I’ll be performing at a house concert in Las Cruces, NM!  The adventure is ongoing and incredible!  Life is really sweet and I want to thank each and every one of you for your ongoing love, enthusiasm and support!  Stay tuned for more!   🙂

