Tags

, , ,

I recently started making my own granola and this week I thought, “Hey, maybe someone else might enjoy using my recipe!” So here it is:

First, I turn the oven on to 350°. If you have a quick bake function, use it.

Next, scoop out about a 1/4-ish cup of coconut oil into a Pyrex measuring cup and put it in the oven to melt it.

Then, in a large bowl, combine:

4 cups of rolled oats
1/2 cup each of pumpkin seeds, cashews, sunflower seeds and walnuts
(1/2 cup of raisins too, if you feel like it – I do once in a while)

Mix the nuts and oats together by hand and then sprinkle in a bit of cinnamon (I never measure it – add to suit your tastes and mood) and just a wee tiny bit of salt and stir all that in.

Now your coconut oil should be ready. Bring that out of the oven and add a 1/4-1/2 cup of either honey or maple syrup and a splash of vanilla extract and stir together. Then pour it all into the bowl of oats and nuts and stir well. Dump your raw granola out onto some sort of baking sheet/dish (I prefer my glass lasagne pan).

If you have quick bake, bake for 15 minutes. No quick bake? Add maybe 5 or 6 minutes.

When bake time is over, pull the granola out and put it on top of the stove, and let it cool off completely.

Then try it! Do you like it? Is it too crispy or chewy? Too much cinnamon? Not enough vanilla? Play with the recipe and make it your own and let me know what you come up with!

