Tags

, , , , , , ,

It is astounding to me that it’s already Labor Day weekend.  I know it’s cliche to say it, but it’s true that time flies faster the older that you get.

That’s not the only thing I’ve noticed about getting older…

THEN

Summer dragged on.

NOW

Summer is over in the blink of an eye.

THEN

My parents didn’t relate to a lot of the music that my friends and I listened to.

NOW

I don’t relate to a lot of the music that kids listen to.

THEN

I loved winter and didn’t mind being cold.

NOW

I don’t like winter and can’t stand being cold.

THEN

I only had permission to use the phone once a day, for 15 minutes max.

NOW

Every kid has their own cell phone.

THEN

I practiced piano every day.

NOW

I practice… almost every day.

THEN

I wished my parents would just leave me alone.

NOW

I wish I still had my parents.

THEN

I had hundreds of cassettes and records (and, eventually, CDs) that took up entirely too much space in my bedroom.

NOW

My entire music collection can fit in the palm of my hand.

THEN

I watched TV.

NOW

I watch Netflix and YouTube.

THEN

MTV had music videos.

NOW

Most of MTV’s programming has nothing to do with music.

THEN

I had to wait agonizingly for weeks or months for movies I wanted to see to become available for rental.

NOW

Netflix can deliver anything I want to watch, either instantly to my computer or within a day to my PO box.

THEN

I wanted to make noise.

NOW

I want peace and quiet.

THEN

I wished I had more money.

NOW

I wish I had more time.

THEN

I wanted to be famous.

NOW

I want to be appreciated.

What then-and-nows do you have to share?

