Tags

, , , , , ,

Still reading old journals from high school this week and I’ve
noticed a few more things:

THEN

I was afraid of being noticed.

NOW

I don’t mind being noticed (most of the time).

THEN

I fell in love so easily.

NOW

My heart is cautious.

THEN

I hated school.

NOW

I love learning.

THEN

I was convinced that no one cared about me.

NOW

I realize how much love I took for granted.

THEN

My mother and I fought bitterly.

NOW

I wish I had her back.

THEN

I drank too much.

NOW

Sober, and proud.

THEN

I thought I had it all figured out.

NOW

I don’t have a clue.

THEN

I thought thirty was old.

NOW

I think thirty is young.

THEN

I was passing notes to friends and boyfriends in the hallways and
waiting for hours, agonized, for a reply.

NOW

All communication is instant and in the palm of one’s hand.

THEN

Music got me through.

NOW

Music is what gets me through.

THEN

I thought I would be a rock star.

NOW

I try to be good at what I do and hope to be appreciated.

THEN

I took everything too personally.

NOW

I am still too sensitive.

THEN

I judged people a little too harshly.

NOW

I judge myself too harshly.

THEN

I questioned everything.

NOW

I still question everything.

THEN

I was brutally honest.

NOW

I choose my battles.

THEN

I thought other people were holding me back.

NOW

I hold myself back.

THEN

I thought I could change the world.

NOW

I know I can only change myself.

